Time and the Promised Land

Hello Friends and Family!

 
Oh my goodness this week was AMAZING. I have learned so much this week. I really have NO time to email today! We only have 1 hour and our time goes super fast. So please forgive me if I don’t have time to respond to all of your wonderful emails today! Next week for sure!
 
Ah I don’t even know where to start. I am probably going to leave out a lot because I am rushed but I will give it a go!
 
1. Silverdale 6th ward is the promised land. On the night I arrived here, we went straight to our ward mission leaders house for a meeting. His name is Brother Barney. Him and his wife are absolutely AMAZING. Words cannot even describe. They take their calling very seriously and do SO much for us missionaries. We have 6 missionaries in this ward! I cannot believe it! Whenever we have appointments with investigators we just have to send a text to one of the ward missionaries and she immediately finds us a member to come with us. I have been truly amazed and inspired at the dedication of the members in this ward. They know that they are called to work in the Lord’s vineyards. I have learned that in order to fully accept the Lord’s great Atonement, we need to show Him that we love him. We do that by being an active member always fulfilling and magnifying our callings, whatever they may be. I studied a talk by Brad Wilcox that talks all about this. It is called Learning not Earning Heaven or something like that… You should all read it!
 
2. Sister K is amazing!!! I have wanted to serve with her my who mission! She is absolutely the cutest thing in the entire world. She is from Thailand and her English is amazing! She is such a little fire-cracker and has grown so much since the beginning of our missions. She goes home at the same time as me. It has been really fun for me to get to learn all about Thailand and eat a lot of Asian food! She is always saying the funniest things and making me laugh so hard! I honestly am entertained at ever moment. She is so funny! I have learned a very important lesson this week and that is that my companions have been my greatest treasures on my mission. I have learned so much about Christlike attributes from each one of them. They have taught me how to love! As you know, 3 of my FAVORITE companions went home this week 😦 Sister Esplin, Sister Davis, and Sister Packard. They all taught me so much and I cannot explain how grateful I am to have served with them each for 2 transfers. They all gave beautiful final testimonies. Sister Davis’ touched me a lot. She mentioned this scripture that had summed up her mission. It is : Ezekiel 36: 26 “A new heart also will I give you, and a new spirit will I put within you: and I will take away the stony heart out of your flesh.” That is very true for Davis but also for myself. I feel as if the Lord is changing my heart. I don’t have desires anymore to be prideful, unkind, jealous, unteachable, etc. I still have a loooong way to go. 
 
3. Silverdale is the most beautiful place on the whole earth! Pack up friends and family, we are moving to Silverdale Washington. There are Pine tree’s everywhere. You can’t see anything but pine. It is cool because we have tons of water in our area too! Ocean water! Little ports from the Sound filter in through our area and it is beautiful. Words cannot describe! Some of these members live in houses straight out of movies!  We are working with 2 main people right now.  They are progressing and both on date! We are very excited to keep teaching them. The work is definitely slower up here in comparison to Parkland but it is beautiful.
 
There is much more to say but I am out of time! Speaking of time…..I have been studying that a lot lately. To reply to my wonderful father’s email today I will say that I have learned that the greatest gift that I have been given next to the Atonement is time. This life is a time to prepare to meet God. My mission is very sacred because I get to improve and serve full time. That is very special to me! There is a scripture in D&C that says “Behold his mission is given unto him, and it shall not be given again.” This hit me SO hard. It makes me so sad to know that I only have 4 months left 😦 I better get to work! I love you all soooo much! Thank you thank you thank you for all you do for me.
 
Love,
 
Sister Cassell
Leave a Reply

