There is no growth in the comfort zone!

Hello family!

 
We had another awesome week this week! We went on exchanges, had an amazing district meeting, got to go to missionary leadership council, and had a wonderful fast Sunday. I learned a lot this week from my leaders here in the mission and from the Spirit. 
 
In our district meeting this week we talked about our mission motto:
Faith is the Power
Love is the Motive
Obedience is the Price
Spirit is the Key
Restoration is the Message
Members are the Means
Christ is the Reason
Baptism is the Way
Joy is the Reward
 
Being out for 14 months I can honestly say that I have such a strong testimony of each of these things. We recite this motto at every meeting but it is not very often we get to break it down and think about it. The experiences I have had on my mission have proved that these things are very true. As a missionary and as a member of the church, it is my job to act on these things every single day. My district leader ended the meeting with a question that really hit me hard. He said, “Do you fear men more than God?” That question pierced my heart a little bit. I was called to repentance! This area is packed full with anti-mormons and is very different than where I have been serving. I cannot be afraid to open my mouth and declare what I know is true.
 
In missionary leadership council we learned that we need to be better at opening our mouths! Elder Ballard said that we should talk to 10 people each day outside of our normal finding efforts. That means every single person we lay eyes on! Once again I though, “Do I fear man more than God?” I know that we cannot fail when we are on the Lord’s errand trying our very best. You never know who God has placed in your path. I have learned that God expects us to open our mouths. That was a promise we made at baptism. It is so easy to get complacent with our efforts as servants of Christ but I know that “there is no growth in the comfort zone and no comfort in the growth zone.” If we are not growing, we are defeating God’s purpose. Because of what I have learned this week, K and I have been trying to have an added measure of diligence and faith with us. We know that our message is true and that we have a work to do. It is our every day choices in life that allow us to either grow, stay complacent, or even fall back. A quote comes to mind from a beloved Albus Dumbledore: “It is our choices, Harry, that show us who we truly are, far more than our own abilities.”
 
We also focused on bringing members to lessons this week! This ward is AWESOME! Our ward is mostly military (we have the Banger Base in our area) but they still do such an awesome job at helping out. One couple we are teaching were able to meet with the Bishop this week to talk about getting married and getting baptized. Looks like we will be planning a wedding! 🙂 They were both at church this Sunday.
One of our investigators is doing really well, he has such a strong desire to know. We taught him twice this week, each time with different members. It was really cool to see how he listens to the members a lot better than he listens to us! Members are the means! He came to church too! He is hoping to get baptized on the 16th! We have also been stopping in members homes a lot this week and sharing with them the message of the Restoration. It is interesting because they have all heard this story a million times but the spirit that comes with it never gets old. I have had some of the most spiritual experiences this week sharing that message with the members. It is the most important event since the Resurrection! I love sharing it!
 
In closing, a take away that I had from this week is God can make a whole lot more out of my life than I can. I have faith in Him. In the song Lead Kindly Light it says “I do not ask to see the distant scene, one step enough for me.” I know that what I am doing right now is what God wants me to be doing. I know that the church I serve is true. Not only part of it but all of it. I know that people can change, I am evidence of that. I don’t know what the future will hold but I am not scared of it anymore. I trust in my Savior and in my Father in Heaven. 
 
I love you all SO MUCH!!!! There is soooo much more I wish I could tell you about this area but words do not do it justice! 
Have a wonderful week 🙂
 
Love,
 
Sister Cassell
Leave a Reply

