“If you’ve got anything else left, you ran it wrong”

Hello my beautiful family!!!

 
Wow this week has floooown by. I am so sorry about not emailing anyone back hardly ever but it has just been so busy lately. Hopefully I will have time soon to write everyone back! Thank you for all the love and support. I have the best family and friends in the world. 
 
This week we were super busy with exchanges. We had to go on more than normal. It took a lot of our time and focus so there is not too much to update on other than that. Long story short but we now have one of the new missionaries in our companionship! Her name is Sister Murdoch. She is awesome! What is with me and always being in trios?! 
Our investigator and his fiance’, were able to come with us this week to a members house for a lesson about temples and eternal marriage! It was awesome. We have to push his baptismal date back to next weekend though so his step son can come.  Our other investigator is doing well too. He is a very busy man though so it is rough to meet with him! The ward still continues to amaze me. Have a told you guys how much I love this ward?? We have an awesome ward mission leader, ward missionaries, and ward council who care so much about missionary work. They also take such good care of us!
 
I want to share with you some of what I have learned this week. I was studying talks from Elder Holland about Urgency and Mediocrity. It changed my life! Elder Holland is amazing! Here is some one liners that stood out to me from his talks. 
1. “If you’ve got anything else left, you ran it wrong.” —He relates this to missionary work. He says that we should need an ambulance to come get us from the airport when we are done with our missions. I was called to repentance right there! I can definitely step it up. I know missionaries that I have served with who were those kind of missionaries that gave it all they have. I want to make sure that I can go home confident that I have “nothing else left”. I think it can also apply to all of us in our everyday life. This life is a time for men to prepare to meet God, are we giving it all we have? Or can we do more?
2. “In this work, with the salvation of the human family hanging in the balance, how comfortable are you with mediocrity?”  —The word “mediocre” is one that I never want to be associated with. It goes perfectly with the statement above. We are in the Lord’s army and we can do better.
3.”Ask and you shall recieve, knock and it shall be opened unto you is mentioned 120 from Genisis to the Pearl of Great Price. Do we actually believe it is true?” “It is time to stop quoting it and start living it.” —I believe this with all my heart! When Christ appeared to the boy Joseph Smith he told them regarding other church’s that “They draw near to me with their lips but their hearts are far from me, they have a form of godliness but they deny the power thereof.” 
 
I love you guys! I am loving my mission and am so happy that I have 3 1/2 more months left! 
Love,
 
Sister Cassell
Leave a Reply

