The Font Fiasco

DSC07242
Hello Family!!! This picture you see above has quite the story to go along with it. So… first things first, our young woman investigator GOT BAPTIZED. It was an amazing day to say the least. It was one of the most special moments I have had on my mission. I am very grateful to my Heavenly Father for allowing me to be a part of that day. Before I go into more details about the baptism, I would like to explain a little more about what happened behind the scenes 😉 The story proceeds as follows:
Sister Liao, Sister Johnston, and I arrive at the stake center at 2:00pm on Saturday for a baptism for a little girl in our ward. We had been asked to speak at the baptism and everything went really well. The little girl who got baptized was able to sing a song with her little sister and it was very sweet. We noticed that the water in the font seemed a little low..it was fine for an 8 yr. old girl but NOT for anyone else. We got it in our heads that when her baptism was over we would turn the water back on and fill it more for our investigator’s baptism. When we proceeded to do so, we found that it could not be filled past where it was because of the overflow drain. We were so upset and determined to have the water level higher. I had been to one too many baptisms where the convert basically has to break his/her back trying to get fully immersed in the water. Our investigator is by no means a big girl but it was better to be too high than too low. We brainstormed a couple ideas and concluded that we would try to “plug” the overflow drain with anything we could find so the font could fill up more. We had a member of our bishopric in on it and everything! We got into the church library and started gathering supplies. It was working but sister Johnston’s skirt got SOAKED trying to reach over the font to the drain. We were panicking but luckily our investigator had brought a hairdryer so we could try to tame the damage. Hahaha it was too funny. But wait! The story has just begun……
DSC07263
We proceed out to the foyer to take the traditional baptism pictures and greet all of the people that are filing in. 30 mins go by and we forget about the font….Sister Johnston runs in to check on it while Sister Liao and I go in to get seated. All we hear from behind the curtain was “BROTHER BARNEY! THE FONT OVERFLOWED!” The room erupts into laughter as Sister Liao rush back to the aid of Sister Johnston. We were able to take care of everything and the baptism went just fine. It was pretty funny.
DSC07271
These are SOME of the youth who came to participate in our cute young woman’s baptism. We had the girls in her young women’s class do everything on the program. It was one of the sweetest baptisms I have ever been to in my entire life. The spirit was so unbelievably strong. Her non member family members were all there and all in tears. TONS of ward members came to support.President Blatter even came! It was a day I surely will never forget. Our newly baptized member bore her testimony in sacrament the next day and was crying through it all. It was a special moment. I think that it really bonded the ward together, especially the young women.
DSC07274
Surprise surprise! I saw my lovely cousin Madison Pilster at the fireside Sunday evening!!! I was soooo happy to see a family member that I flew out of my seat to meet her. It was really good to see her. I love her to death!
We also had a mission tour with Elder Snow this week that was AWESOME! He is the church historian and a member of the 70. We basically had a big meeting with him and learned a lot! He was a really cool guy.
I am so out of time! I love you family!
Love,
Sister Cassell
Leave a Reply

